Skip to Main Content
Navigated to Governance.


Under the auspices of the Ministry of Education, Sports, Youth, Agriculture and Lands, there are two bodies of govern ance responsible for the operation of the University College of Cayman.

Board of Governors

The UCCI Board of Governors, which meets about eight times each year, has the power to control and exercise general supervision of the affairs, functions, purposes, policy and property of the University College. The board’s responsibilities are conducted through a set of committees with clear accountability and delegated authority for advice, oversight or approval. The board determines which matters the Administrative and Academic Committee must submit to the board in order to receive the board's approval, where those matters cut across the distinctive roles of the two bodies.

Those matters requiring board approval include the following:

  • mission statement,

  • strategic plan,

  • academic planning frameworks including enrollment frameworks,

  • long-term budget strategy,

  • annual operating budget,

  • capital plans and capital projects over CI$50,000,

  • academic priorities for fundraising,

  • approval of the ownership agreement and purchase agreement between the government and the university college, 

  • establishment, disestablishment, restructuring or renaming of academic units,

  • approval of annual reports to the minister of education on the work of the university college, including the report of key performance indicators compared with targets contained in the  ownership agreement,

  • approval of the annual audited financial statements, 

  • approval of the report to ministers of education and finance on the financial activities of the university college,

  • subject to the approval of the minister of education, approval of a policy on tuition fees and compulsory academic incidental fees,

  • approval of the annual fee schedule, and

  • approval of a policy on student financial aid, bursaries and scholarships.

The board’s Terms of Reference set out further details.

See detail of the board’s legal responsibilities.

The Board of Governor's membership consists of the president and CEO, and the following other members, each appointed, generally for three years, by the governor.


Mr. Gilbert McLean

Deputy Chair

Mr. Jared Awe


Mrs. Nichelle Scott, Member

Mr. Joel Francis, Non-Voting Member 

Mr. Leonard Lewis, Member

Ms. Pamela Ebanks-Small, Member

Mr. Ronnie Dunn, Non-Voting Member 

Ms. Lindsay Japal, Member 

Mr. Steve Bramwell, Member 

Dr. Gayle Woods, Member 

Dr. J.D. Mosley-Matchett, Interim President and CEO, Ex-Officio


Ms. Wendy Lauer, Recording Secretary and Executive Assistant to the Board Chair

Office: 623-0563

Click to Email

* Voting members pursuant to Sections 9.(6)(c) and 24.(b) of the The Public Authorities Law, 2017

Administrative and Academic Committee (AAC)

The Administrative and Academic Committee which meets about nine times each year is responsible for consideration of policy in the academic area and for monitoring matters within its area of responsibility. In general, the committee is concerned with matters affecting the teaching, learning, and research functions of the university college, and the establishment of  its purpose, mission and objectives, priorities and resource allocation through the development of long-term and short-term plans and budgets.

The Administrative and Academic Committee has final decision-making authority within its area of responsibility, except when the Board of Governors requires the Administrative and Academic Committee to also submit matters for approval by the board, where those matters cut across the distinctive roles of the two bodies, such as approval of fees, budgets and strategic plans. Also, matters having significant impact on the university college as a whole, those having serious steering effects on the development of a particular unit or those having a major impact on the relationships amongst units and relationships between the university college and the community at large, will normally require the approval of the Board.

The Administrative and Academic Committee’s Terms of Reference set out further detail.

The Administrative and Academic Committee membership consists of those set out in the University College Law and five Board of Governors appointments made for one-year terms ending July 15th.

Office 623-0574 or Mobile 326 0687